Posted by DG Bret McKeand
Larry Cervarich of the Rotary Club of Verrado (Buckeye) is the recipient of the Rotary Service Above Self Award, the most prestigious award presented to a Rotarian by Rotary International.
Immediate Past District Governor Elizabeth Mahoney announced the award at the District year-end celebration held July 10 at the Wigwam Resort in Litchfield Park.
Caught completely off-guard by the announcement, Larry was clearly touched by the selection and thanked his fellow club members, the district and Rotary in general for giving him the opportunity to serve others.
Rotary’s highest honor recognizes Rotarians who demonstrate Rotary’s motto, “Service Above Self,” by volunteering their time and talents to help others. The award is internationally competitive and is granted to no more than 150 Rotarians worldwide. Today, no more than one individual from each district, each year can earn the prestigious honor.
Only district governors, immediate past district governors, RI directors, and past RI directors may honor exemplary Rotarians by nominating them to be considered for the award. Nominations are usually due in October/November of each year. 
Rotary District 5495 is incredibly proud of its recipients of the Service Above Self Award. Below is a list of members in District 5495 who have been recognized as recipients of the Service Above Self honor:
 1999-2000 James R. Freeman North Phoenix 5490,
 1999-2000 Ronald J. Roderique Phoenix Midtown 5490 
 1999-2000 Norma Taylor-Roderique Phoenix Arcadia 5510 
 2000-2001 James Lemmon Tempe Rio Salado 5510 
 2000-2001 Herbert Rollins Tempe-Tri City Sunset 5510 
 2000-2001 Rodger Wagner Scottsdale 5510 
 2001-2002 Hartley B. Barker Scottsdale 5510 
 2001-2002 Charles E. Buzzard Tempe South 5510 
 2001-2002 Roderick W. Carruthers Sun Lakes, 5510 
 2002-2003 Arthur Harrington Springerville 5510 
 2004-2005 Barbara Feder Kyrene Corridor 5510 
 2004-2005 Robert R. Whiteaker North Phoenix 5490 
 2005-2006 Greg Podd Four Peaks 5510 
 2006-2007 Dr. Ben C. Eubank Rio Salado 5510 
 2007-2008 Lucinda (Rose) General Mesa West 5510 
 2007-2008 Donald J. Schiller Prescott Sunup 5490 
 2007-2008 George C. Wheeler Peoria North 5490 
 2008-2009 Garner Al Mabry Mesa West 5510 
 2010-2011 Charlie Tegarden Kingman Rte. 66 5490 
 2011-2012 Martin Feldman Peoria North 5490 
 2011-2012 Melvin Taunt E-Club of The Southwest 5510 
 21 2012-2013 Chuck Denney Lake Havasu City 5490 
 2012-2013 Bob Solis Sun City 5490 
 2014-2015 Richard Eisenach Phoenix ‘100’ 5490 
 2016-2017 Abraham Feder Tempe South 5510 
 2016-2017 Chuck Fitzgerald Peoria 5490 
2019-2020 Robert Jensen Mesa West 5495
2020-2021 Larry Cervarich Goodyear White Tanks 5495